Seva Bharati Mahavidyalaya

(A multi-faculty college affiliated to Vidyasagar University and funded by UGC & Govt. of W.B.)
Vill. & P.O.-Kapgari: Dist.-Jhargram (W.B.): Pin.–721 505

Department Of Philosophy

Background History:

Seva Bharati Mahavidyalaya started its glorious journey on the 17th July, 1964 under University of Calcutta.The Department of Philosophy has been providing quality education to students since the inception of the college. Then Logic was offered as pre -university Arts subject and Philosophy as Pass (General) subject. The department was under the University of Calcutta till 30th May, 1985. It received the affiliation of Vidyasagar University on 1st June,1985. Vidyasagar University gave permission to run three year degree course in Philosophy Honours from the academic session 2004 -2005. From the session 2018-2019 Vidyasagar University has introduced a new Choice Based Credit System (CBCS) for both Honours and General courses.Recently, the number of students in Honours course is 22 and approximately 250 in General course.

Presently the department consists of two full time faculties and three SACT (State Aided College Teacher) faculties. As per the regulations of Vidyasagar University, regular class tests are conducted by the department for both the Honours and General courses.

The department and IQAC organised a State-level Webinar on Philosophy of Religion titled 'Unveiling A New Horizon of Religion’ on 29th September, 2021. In that webinar, two eminent speakers shared their views with us.One of them was Dr. Dipayan Pattanayak, Professor, Department of Philosophy,Jadavpur University. Another speaker was Dr. Bikash Mondal, Assistant Professor, Department of Philosophy, West Bengal State University. To enrich our students,we arranged a special lecture on Indian Philosophy on 14th March, 2016. Ms. Manjusha Singha Mahapatra, Associate Professor, V.S. Mahavidyalaya delivered her valuable lecture .

Our department endeavours to develop creative and critical thinking among students.Most of our students usually come from very poor family. Though all of them are not acquainted with the modern system of technology, they are hard-working. We inspire the students to produce independent writing on philosophical thoughts which is very much relevant for the betterment of society. Our department aims at holistic development of young learners and hopes to mould them into young citizen of the nation who are dependable, honest and committed to a sound value system.

Programmes Offered

Sl. No. Name of the Programme Year of Introduction Programme Duration
1. B.A. Hons. in Philosophy 2004 Three years
2. B.A. General in Philosophy 1964 Three Years

Award for the Departmental Students

(Gourirani Das Memorial Award, since 2019):For securing highest marks from the department in Philosophy (Hons.) in the B.A. final examination of Vidyasagar University.Donor: Dr. Debasri Basu (Das).