Seva Bharati Mahavidyalaya

(A multi-faculty college affiliated to Vidyasagar University and funded by UGC & Govt. of W.B.)
Vill. & P.O.-Kapgari: Dist.-Jhargram (W.B.): Pin.–721 505

Department of Physics

Background History:

The Department of Physics of Seva Bharati Mahavidyalaya was established in the Year 1978.The department offers programmes like B.Sc. General in Physics and Generic Elective Courses for other disciplines like the combination of Mathematics-Physics-Chemistry (MPC) and Chemistry-Mathematics-Physics (CMP).The main objective of this department is to spread the basic knowledge of Physics into the minds of the students in this rural area and motivate these students in higher education to bring them to the national mainstream.The departmental curriculum has been designed as per UGC regulation.The weakness of this department is the lack of some instrumental facility in the laboratory.However, the future plan is to improve the department with the arrangement of laboratory with experimental set-up as per the syllabus under Curriculum & Credit Framework for Undergraduate Programmes (CCFUP)-2023 & NEP-2020.Initially, the department was run by one State-aided College Teacher (SACT) who joined the college on 16th july, 2015.Later on, one full-time faculty member, Dr. Barnali Barman, joined the department in the capacity of Assistant Professor and is presently holding the post of Head of the Department.

Programmes Offered

Sl. No. Name of the Programme Year of Introduction Programme Duration
1. B.Sc. General in Physics 1978 Three Years