Seva Bharati Mahavidyalaya

(A multi-faculty college affiliated to Vidyasagar University and funded by UGC & Govt. of W.B.)
Vill. & P.O.-Kapgari: Dist.-Jhargram (W.B.): Pin.–721 505

Minority Cell

The aim of the Minority Cell of Seva Bharati Mahavidyalaya is to empower the minority communities in the College and assist them in their curricular, co-curricular and extra-curricular activities. The Cell has been set up to help minority students from the Christian, Muslim, Jain and other communities achieve holistic development.


  • To ensure equal opportunities for education of minorities.
  • To facilitate financial support to students from these communities from governmental agencies and other sources.
  • To make the minority students aware of the various scholarships schemes of the Central and State Governments.
  • To encourage these students to enroll for courses, workshops, programs, etc. which the College offers to the students in an attempt to equip them with the skills needed for their careers.
  • To provide prompt counselling for any emotional emergencies arising on account of any event on the College campus.
  • To provide the students with a grievance redressal mechanism in addition to the regular redressal mechanism functions and activities.
  • To collect reports and information of Government of West Bengal and UGC’s orders on various aspects of education, employment of minority students.
  • To publicize the various Central and State Government scholarship schemes and any updates in these matters.
  • To coordinate with other College Cells and Committees such as the Mentoring Cell, Placement Cell, etc. and ensure that students from minority communities participate in their activities.
  • To coordinate with Programme Coordinators, Department Heads and the Mentors to identify students from these communities who need special assistance such as remedial classes and bridge courses, as well as those who are advanced learners and could be given extra attention and guidance.
Chairman: Dr. Deba Prasad Sahu, Principal
Conveners: Mrs. Farhat Naaz, Assistant Professor, Dept. of Anthropology
Mr. Narendra Nath Murmu, Assistant Professor, Dept. of Santali
Members: Dr. Chitta Ranjan Pal, Associate Professor, Dept. of Commerce
Mr. Sukumar Dhara, Assistant Professor, Dept. of Chemistry
Dr. Prasanta Das, Assistant Professor, Dept. of Bengali
Mr. Rik Sarkar, Assistant Professor, Dept. of English
Mr. Bishnupada Shaw, SACT, Category – II, Dept. of Mathematics
Mr. Ajoy Bag, SACT, Category – II, Dept. of Physical Education
Mrs. Lovely Saha, SACT, Category – II, Dept. of Philosophy
Dr. Sujan Barman, SACT, Category – I, Dept. of Physical Education
Mr. Navendu Dehuri, Library Peon
Minutes & ATR Minority Cell View