Seva Bharati Mahavidyalaya

(A multi-faculty college affiliated to Vidyasagar University and funded by UGC & Govt. of W.B.)
Vill. & P.O.-Kapgari: Dist.-Jhargram (W.B.): Pin.–721 505

About the Department

Background History:

The Department of Chemistry was introduced in the year 1980 with Chemistry as a pass subject only.Honours course was implemented in the year with only seven students.In the year 1979, Prof. C.R.Mandal joined as junior Lecturer.In 1980, under the able an expert guidance of Prof. C.R.Mondal, Head of the Department, the Chemistry laboratory of setup.In the year 1985, Dr. A.K.Adak joined as junior Lecturer. In the year 1997, Dr. P.K.Manna joined as junior Lecturer and in the year 2006, Prof. S. Dhara joined as junior Lecturer.Presently the department is being run by two full-time faculty members.The department also has one Laboratory assistant and one casual attendant.

Programmes Offered

Sl. No. Name of the Programme Year of Introduction Programme Duration
1. B.Sc. Hons. in Chemistry 2008 Three/Four Years
2. B.Sc. General in Chemistry 1978 Three Years

Award for the Departmental Students

(Jagannath Manna and Charubala Manna Memorial Award, since 2016):For the topper in the final University Examination.Donor: Dr. Tapan Kumar Manna.